Tips to Expect at University

Hello friend! Maybe you’ve wandered here in a complete panic about being a first year. Or maybe you’re thinking you’ve got this first year at uni thing down packed. Well, my dear one, regardless if you are completely petrified at the thought of being in a new place or feeling like you’ve got this, here are __ things you can expect when you start Uni.

1. You will have a lot of freedom. 

Sick of being kept in classes you hate? Well this is the place for you. Unless something is assessable, you don’t have to go! Don’t wanna sit in a lecture for 3 hours? Get up and leave! Which brings me to my next point…

2. Don’t ask to leave.

You’re not in highschool anymore. Not only do the lecturers care if you attend or not, they really don’t care if you leave. Same goes with tutorials. If you need to go to the bathroom, get up and leave. Nobody will ask where you’re going or if you’re coming back. Just go. Chances are, if you ask, you’ll get weird looks. You don’t need that kind of negativity in your life, girlfriend.

3. You probably won’t make friends in the first week.

And that’s totally OK. Chill, sit back and observe. In uni, you want to be friends with the people who are serious about their degree, because you did choose to be there. In the flurry of figuring out your campus, classes and lecturers, the last thing you want is to be too hasty to make friends and end up partying every night and then failing your degree. Trust me, it happens.

4. You’ll get lost.

Depending on how big your campus is, you’re bound to get lost and that’s ok. What I found helpful was finding all my rooms in my Orientation Week and then it was easier in first week.

5. Buy lots and lots of pens. 

I dunno how, but somehow Uni gobbles up students pens. I’ll have 10 million one day and then come home and find I’ll need more because I lost them all. Where did I lose them? Gosh, I wish I knew!

6. Don’t stress.

You’re going to do great 🙂 It’s completely normal to be stressed or anxious before going into a new environment. Feel free to pop me a fb message if you’re feeling super duper anxious or just want to have a chat about being a first year at university. I’ve been there, and I know the feels.

Smile 😀 xoxo

Anastasia

Superheroes the script

Leave a comment