You’re Obviously Just an Attention Seeker

I saw a post the other day that made me so upset, I almost lost it, then and there. Here, let me find it for you.

depression

Luckily, I did the thing where you take a breather before you start writing. Now, I’m going to be honest. I don’t relate to depression on a personal level. I’ve never had depression, and to be perfectly honest, for a while I’ve been avoiding writing about this topic. But enough is enough.

I’ve heard day in, day out, that “depression is just a faze,” “She’s not really depressed, she’s just wants attention.” The word “depression” has become somewhat of a joke within society, and is constantly linked to negative connotations. “Attention seeker.” “Annoying.” “Liar.”

To be honest, for a long time, I never understood depression, and I can honestly say I still don’t. I don’t know what makes people feel so bad about themselves and about life to have depression. I don’t get it.

But that certainly is never going to stop me from loving and supporting them.

So here’s my organised rant on this big topic called “Depression.”

Depression is diagnosed to hundreds of thousands of people every year. Now, I’m not a psychiatrist, but I do have some handy hints if a friend or someone close to you tells you they are depressed, diagnosed or not.

1. Do not say “you’ll get over it.”

On no circumstances is this ever a good idea. People suffering from something like that are very fragile and feel as though this is something out of there hands. While you think they’re being silly, they’re battling with their feelings on a level that you and I may not understand. Rather, encourage and love on them, while acknowledging that you don’t get it.

2. You are not a therapist.

Your friend or family member may just need someone to talk to, but remember that you are not a therapist. You are not responsible for solving their problems or taking them upon yourself. Listen, encourage, love, but the worst thing you can do in a situation like this is take this problem on as your own. If your friend needs serious help to overcome this, recommend they see someone who can give them professional advice. Not only is this safer for you, it’s also much safer for your friend. While you have their best interests at heart, it’s not always wise to give your advice, which could very well lead them into something worse.

3. Look after yourself.

You are responsible for you, and that’s what matters most. There is no point hurting yourself and losing your good spirits just because your friend or family is hurting. Make sure you take care of yourself and love yourself.

4. Ask them to see somebody.

If someone has opened up to you about how they are feeling, one of the first things I would do is suggest seeing someone about it; a school counselor, calling a kid’s help line, a teacher, an adult you trust or a doctor. The main thing with this situation, though, is not to push them into seeing somebody, and reassuring them that they will have you as a friend throughout it all.

5. If the situation becomes harmful..

If the situation changes and either you or your friend is in danger or physically harmed, it is very important you notify somebody who can help immediately. I know from personal experience that often your friend won’t be very fond of this idea, and often will threaten to cut all ties with you, but at the end of the day, their (and your own) safety is much more important.

BCeSNwsCMAAEmgw

Another thing, I want to address the people who are quick to call people “attention seekers.” Yes, I understand there’s some moments when it’s just crossing the line. I often scroll past anyone who posts vague, upsetting statuses as much as the next person does, but maybe we shouldn’t. What’s wrong with wanting a bit of attention? We all need it. We all crave intimacy and friendship and sometimes (especially if you’re a giiirrrlll *cough cough*) we feel pretty outside the circle of love. Honestly, we all have a bit of an attention seeking nature within us, and I don’t really see why that’s such a negative thing.

Let’s all try a thing. Next time you see someone post something a bit vague, and a bit “depressing”, shoot them a message. It takes 5 seconds, and if they don’t want to talk or tell you, at least it wasn’t for lack of trying. Sometimes, just knowing someone cares enough to say something is more than enough.

(Disclaimer: I do not endorse the posting of vague and “depressing” statuses, I much reccommend you confide in a friend or family member)

I hope this has been helpful, feel free to inbox me about anything and everything and hope you’re all having a lovely week.

Keep smiling,

Anastasia xox

cropped-endlesslove.png

Leave a comment